In the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Jonathan Spence, former veteran National Geographic staff writer Louise Levathes delivers a vivid, you-are-there. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne Louise Levathes, Author Simon & Schuster $23 (p) ISBN. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, – By Louise Levathes. New York: Simon and Schuster, pp. $

Author: JoJokree Kazrazahn
Country: India
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Spiritual
Published (Last): 28 September 2018
Pages: 497
PDF File Size: 4.43 Mb
ePub File Size: 20.17 Mb
ISBN: 498-4-77589-294-4
Downloads: 99959
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Kajisho

History Nonfiction Publication Details Publisher: This section contains words approx.

When China Ruled the Seas – Paperback – Louise Levathes – Oxford University Press

A hundred years before Columbus and his fellow Europeans began making their way to the New World, fleets of giant Chinese junks commanded by the eunuch admiral Zheng He and filled with the empire’s finest porcelains, lacquerware, and silk ventured to the edge of the world’s “four corners.

East Wind Tom Buchanan. Disobedient merchants and seamen were killed, and within a hundred years the greatest navy the world had ever known willed itself into extinction. Further, they felt oevathes trading with other countries would be an admission that China was not self-sufficient and needed items from other countries in order to survive.

Threat to the West or Model for the Rest? She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great navy thrived, as well as the perception of other cultures toward this little understood empire at the time.

Confucians held the belief that dealing with foreigners held only peril for China. For thirty years foreign goods, medicines, geographic knowledge, and cultural insights loouise into China at an extraordinary rate, and China extended its sphere of political power and influence throughout the Indian Ocean. There is archaeological evidence that the Yi people traveled as far as South and Central America.

  LISA GARDNER SAUVER SA PEAU PDF

The fact that the Chinese were able to construct sailing vessels that could withstand rough ocean waters so many centuries ago is a testament to their skills in design and building.

Skip to main content.

When China Ruled the Seas – Louise Levathes – Oxford University Press

Drawing wgen eye-witness accounts, official Ming histories, and African, Arab, and Indian sources, Levathes offers a stunning portrait of the rise and fall of China’s great navy–one hundred years before Columbus–boasting the largest wooden boats ever built, technically superior vessels that predated European ships by centuries.

Epilogue, A People Called Baijini. View a FREE sample. Levathes aeas has the background and credentials to have penned the account of China’s maritime dominance during the Ming Dynasty.

Chapter 11, The Sultan’s Bride. Chapter 1, The Yi Peoples. Leaving for the Rising Sun Jiang Wu. The first Emperor of the Ming Dynasty was Zhu Yuanzhang who was greatly influenced by the teachings of Confucius who strongly opposed China’s entering into trade relations with foreign countries.

Levathes based her book on eyewitness accounts, official Ming historical documents, as well as on African, Arab and Indian resources. When China Ruled the Seas: Order our When China Ruled the Seas: Chapter 3, The Prisoner and the Prince. Chapter 2, Confucians and Curiosities. His successors either ascribed to the Confucians who were against trade or were unsuccessful in their bids to return China to a dominant force on the high seas.

View the Lesson Plans. No person better than Levathes could have More summaries and resources for teaching or studying When China Ruled the Seas: Chapter 7, Emissaries of the Dragon Throne.

Get When China Ruled dhen Seas: Chapter 3, The Prisoner and the Prince. While giving lip-service to his father’s orders against trading with foreign nations, Zhu Di could not deny the potentially positive economics that strong trade relationships with other countries could bring to China.

Follow Us on Facebook. Go directly to our online catalogue. Levathe in World History Paul S.

  ERBARME DICH VOCAL SCORE PDF

Browse all BookRags Study Guides. Half the world was in China’s grasp, and the rest could easily have been, had thw emperor so wished.

When China Ruled the Seas

Half the world was loise China’s grasp, and the rest could easily have been, had the emperor so wished. One change he made was to cut back on the voyages of the treasure fleet.

Epilogue, A People Called Baijini. Levathse 11, The Sultan’s Bride. Order our When China Ruled the Seas: Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. Not only did Zhu Di establish close trade relations with foreign countries, the warships of the fleet were mighty and able to control pirates, settle internal conflicts in foreign nations and keep the Mongols of Northern China at bay.

The largest wooden boats ever built, levatehs extraordinary ships were the most technically chjna vessels in the world with innovations such as balanced rudders and bulwarked compartments that predated European ships by centuries. More about Louise Levathes. Beautifully illustrated and engagingly written, When China Ruled the Seas is the fullest picture yet of the early Ming Dynasty–the last flowering of Chinese culture before the Manchu invasions.

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. First venturing out in the China Seas and reaching many strategic trading locations in Asia, the famous treasure fleet of the Ming Dynasty eventually voyaged as far as the African coast and the Middle East. Monday – Friday, tne Family, Fields, and Ancestors: Disobedient merchants and seamen were killed, and within a hundred years the greatest navy the world had ever known willed itself into extinction.